Sidewalk Wanderings, Wilmington, Ohio

I work a miserable third shift schedule now.

Actually, it’s not that bad. I get three days off, technically 4, and my shift is slow, which is both nice and sad. But I start work when the sun goes down, and I’m off work once the sun goes up. While everyone else is racing like a mad fool to get into work, I’m driving slowly, bleary eyed, trying to get back home and back to my one true love: Serta.

Occasionally, though, whether by a second wind or the power of Red Bull, I’ll get off work and have a spring in my step. Since I always have at least one camera with me now, I head off in search of something I feel like trying to photograph. For these pictures, they happen to come from the country city of Wilmington, Ohio.

Wilmington is a strange town. It’s not small enough to be village, and the government calls it the “City of Wilmington,” but it’s surrounded by farms and crops. The biggest employers are a tractor dealership, a box making company, and a cargo airline operating out of Airborne Airpark. There’s Wilmington College, but if it were in Chicago it might only take up one block. Oddly, Wilmington has two colleges; WIlmington College and a branch of Southern State Community College.

The tallest structures are gravity bins for the storing of crops, but the downtown section has the feeling of being a larger city. The Wal Mart is huge, and yet every weekend in the summer, there’s a farmers market in downtown and it’s always a happening affair. There are two movie theaters, a drive in (yes, a drive in) and a small indoor. By small, I mean… Eh, 5 screens, I think. Each theatre room can hold maybe 80 people. Nothing compared to the theater I typically go to, which holds 350 in a theatre, and has 23 screens.

In all, Wilmington is a strange little town. Proud of its farming heritage, but also trying to draw in the glitz of a larger city with its performing arts and the General Denver Hotel, which sits in a Tudor revival hotel in downtown, with the most luxurious dining and hotel accommodations until you get into Cincinnati, Dayton or Columbus.

If you think of a small Western town that’s trying to shake it’s dusty roots off, without forgetting those roots, you’d be pretty close to Wilmington. As such, it makes a good place for photography.

I decided to shoot my first roll of Ektachrome in Wilmington, and shot the first roll of EliteChrome here as well. It’s on it’s way to being developed.

These shots will be coming from the Nikon D200. These are meant as preview shots for the film camera, but some of them came out pretty good, so I ran them through DXO FilmPack 5 and now I’m sharing them here.

Enjoy. And remember, if you like any of these pictures, they were made with an 11 year old DSLR, a fixed 50 Nikon lens, and a minute amount of post processing. You camera doesn’t matter. Shoot what you want, how you want. If it makes you happy, that’s what matters.

Also, there’s no particular order, so if things seem a little… Wacky. Guess what…

airbornesunrisevertical

Airborne Airpark at sunrise.

berries

Red berries in a tree.

doesanyonewalkanymore

Missing tumbleweeds…

hangflaghere

Shouldn’t there be a flag here?

interestingpillar

Band instruments for rent, and… Is that a pillar made of books?

moreflowers

Oh look. Another obligatory flower picture.

nodumping

Aquaman won’t like you if you do…

oldbuildingsunrise

I love this building. I wish I could have an apartment here. Sadly, it’s all occupied.

oldstreetsign

I wonder how old that street sign is?

templeinvine

Vines on the temple.

nikonhammer

F4 #2, just after having shot my first roll of Ektachrome.

abstractadox20

Abstract art makes people happy. Right? (DXO FilmPack 5 Adox 20 emulation)

ellrollei

E L L. Okay. (DXO FilmPack 5 Rollei Vintage80’s emulation)

murphyrollei80s

Muuurph! (DXO FilmPack 5 ADOX 20 emulation)

Except the black and white, everything else was Kodachrome from DXO FilmPack 5.

Leave a Reply

