A year (roughly) in review. (Or, a FREAKIN’ TON OF PHOTOS!)

Casually looking through my wordpress the other day, I noticed that my first post was back in June 2015.

June came and went for me this year and I didn’t even notice. Well, that’s not true, I did notice. I just wish I hadn’t.

When I realized that it had been an entire year for me working this page, with varying degrees of consistency, I was a little excited. I’d done this site, and photography consistently, for a whole year. How cool is that!?

To do something you don’t have to do, you’re not paid to do, no one’s forcing you to do, for an entire year. Doing it simply because you enjoy it. That’s a powerful thing. It makes you feel good.

I decided that I should do the obligatory “Yay, look at me!” post just because I can. I also wanted to throw in a little review, and some thanks too.

So, the review of a year. And a month, but let’s not get technical, okay?

I started with a Nikon EM, a Nikon Series “E” 50mm lens, and a Vivitar 50-210 lens. I used Wal-Mart Fuji print film, and knew about the rule of thirds.

I then bought a Nikon N65, with a Quantaray 28-90mm lens, and began using Kodak print film instead.

I then discovered Dodd Camera in Cincinnati, and began shooting black and white film. My favorite, so far, is Kodak Tri-X 400. T-Max is also nice, and so is Kentmere. I’m playing with new Ilford films now, as well as Fuji Across. By playing, I mean I have rolls waiting to be shot. Also bought a Nikon 70-210 af lens.

Shot a medium format camera, a good Soviet Kamera, the Lomo Lubitel 2. Shot on Kodak Ektar and Fuji Velvia. My Ektar came out fine, my Velvia was… Not.

Then I bought a Nikon F4, which was the dream camera. Learned a little bit more about rules, aperture, shutter speed and the rule of threes.

Upgraded my Kodak films to Ektar, Portra, and Color Plus. That last film is the Dark Horse; I didn’t think it’d make good pictures. Boy was I wrong.

Started shooting slide film in 35mm. Started with Agfa CT Precisa, then tried my hand on Fuji Velvia. My Agfa shots seemed alright, and I had a few keepers. Velvia remains the unconquered beast.

Began using filters. (Boy was this a surprise, haha.)

Most recently, purchased an incomplete Nikon F4 from Dodd, and completed the camera with a new battery grip, giving me essentially a Nikon F4 and an F4e. Also acquired a new Nikon 35-70mm af lens.

I’ve aquired a lot of camera stuff in the last year. What can I tell you about it? Sure, I like it all, but it hasn’t made me a better photographer. I still go out with my Nikon EM, a simple 50mm lens, and go make great, and bad, shots. I don’t know everything, and since this is just a hobby, I doubt I ever will. But I enjoy it anyway.

So why share my photography? Well, sure it’d be neat to become a famous photographer, maybe. Being able to spend all my time photographing sounds good. If I could only photograph and fly for the rest of my life, I’d be a happy man. Sadly, I doubt that will ever be the complete case, but oh well.

I share my photography so that maybe someone else will get some enjoyment from my pictures. If just one person looks at my photos and goes is amazed, or just simply likes them, then hey, I’m doing pretty good.

Sure, I like it when 15 to 20 people like something I post. But most of the time I only get a like or two. Sure, that’s a little stinky. But hey, I forget all about that when I’m out chasing down something I think is interesting, or stopping on the side of the road suddenly to capture an image I stumbled on.

Do I have anything to share to anyone who wants to do something similar? Sure!

Do it because you enjoy it. Do it because you want to. Don’t do it for accolades, or for attention, because you might not get it. You have to do it for you. Focus on the fun, don’t focus on trying to make yourself famous or well known. I guess if that’s supposed to happen, it will happen. If not, oh well.

And never think you know it all. You’ll get a whole heapin’ helpin’ of humble pie so fast your head’ll spin!

So, now what?

I guess I should include some pictures from the past year. Maybe my favs? Yeah, let’s do that.

So here are my favs. I’m not going to bother with technical info on these, and I might not anymore at all. Just… Enjoy the photos. Stop worry about how.

And go make your own. Staring at mine can’t be a fun all day experience.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

One of my first shots. It’s not bad. Ignore the phone poll. This was also Ent’s last spring. Ent is the tall Ash at the right of frame. You can read about Ent’s story here… https://oflifeflyingandphotography.wordpress.com/2015/12/23/i-lost-a-friend-this-year/

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Another early shot. I’ve come to love this one over time. Such bokeh. Much wonder…

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Is it England, or just a small Ohio community trying to LOOK like England… It’s the latter, honestly.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

The West Main Street Cafe, Hillsboro, Ohio.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Fallen log.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Chained gate.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Unlike Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan, I prefer real mail…

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

A reflection through old and broken glass…

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Metal Yard, Wilmington, Ohio

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Crossing tracks and an old mill, Wilmington, Ohio

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Old door, Wilmington, Ohio

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Steel and wood, Wilmington, Ohio

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Old doors. Notice the EM getting tired on this day, a little light leak down in the bottom corner. Wilmington, Ohio

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

262 Wilmer Avenue, Cincinnati, Ohio. A little lighter than I’d have liked.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

I doubt I need to describe…

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Sky Galley at Lunken Airport. A little lighter than I wanted. Cincinnati, Ohio

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

1945, or 2015? Lunken Airport, Cincinnati, Ohio

These next 4 are digital from a Nokia Lumia 1020, processed with Alien Skin’s Kodachrome 64 emulation. They’re the only digital images here.

WP_20150629_21_03_49_Pro-Kodachrome64

Little crick, Kodachrome 64 emulation (Nokia only image)

WP_20150629_21_04_34_Pro-Kodachrome64

Rocks, Kodachrome 64 emulation

WP_20150629_21_09_58_Pro-Kodachrome64

Bubbles, Kodachrome 64 emulation

WP_20150629_21_11_07_Pro-Kodachrome64

More rocks, Kodak Kodachrome 64 emulation

The next shots came from the Lomo Lubitel 2, shot on Kodak Ektar 120 film.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Headstones near Fort Ancient

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

No railroad here anymore

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Old bicycle

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Very cool house

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Fort Ancient antique store

And we’re back to my normal 35mm photography.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

A shattered back board, for a shattered playground

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

4400 dog visits?

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Decay.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Long unused fountain.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Hostas.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Inspirational Message on the Little Miami

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Little Miami Bike Trail

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Tractor Gauges

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

1964 John Deere 2010

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Maines Tin Shop, Hillsboro, Ohio

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Ladder to no where.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Fire Escape, Hillsboro, Ohio

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Christmas Courthouse Lawn, Hillsboro, Ohio

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Almost there….

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

A frosted branch.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Black, yellow and blue.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

A frosted fence.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Sun still rising.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

A frosted fenceline.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Getting more light.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

And here it comes.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Goodbye, old friend.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Sawdust and echoes.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbHAutosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbHAutosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbHAutosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Hawk at sunset

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Sunset over the field

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Sun to the right. (Note: I cropped a small amount of the right of the picture off, as it had a strange light streak on it. Not sure what it is exactly, but I removed it.)

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Down the nose

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Random berry… Things.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Cemetary Bench

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Cobbled Path to Stairs

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Back of the Opera House… With a filter this time! (ND-4, for the tech folks)

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

I prefer RC honestly…

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Hello

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Ohio River Trail Mile Marker

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Sunset over snowy field.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

That’s one bad lensflare. Or good, depending on how you look at it…

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Snow drawings in the… Snow.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Lilly’s in black and white.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Nifty lamp.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Nifty chandelier.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Lilly’s on the inside… In amazing Kodak Portra 160 color! (I should sell for Kodak, I really should…) Yes, it might be a bit off balance. The floor in Lilly’s isn’t really level. Anywhere, if I’m honest.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

A collection of stuff.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Nifty chandelier in AMAZING KODAK COLOR!

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Stuff in great light.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Selfie, hashtag and yolo are NOT in this dictionary. As a result, I bought it…

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

A sled, brought to you in amazing 35mm Kodak Color! (Product plugging, much?)

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Same dictionary in Kodak Portra color.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

A magnified copy of Pride and Prejudice.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

A new old cart.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Again, nifty color and light, eh?

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Wow, talk about a waltz through time…

wadsworth

“It was as if an earthquake rent The hearth-stones of a continent, And made forlorn The households born Of peace on earth, good-will to men! And in despair I bowed my head; “There is no peace on earth,” I said; “For hate is strong, And mocks the song Of peace on earth, good-will to men!” Then pealed the bells more loud and deep: “God is not dead, nor doth He sleep; The Wrong shall fail, The Right prevail, With peace on earth, good-will to men.” – Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Deeds Carillon, Dayton, Ohio

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Deeds Carillon, umm, upside down.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Fallen tree.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Open field.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Mossy fallen tree.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

A creek… Still runs through it.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Country road at sunset.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Country farm at sunset.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Pretty flowers.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

More pretty flowers.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

You guessed it… More pretty flowers.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Flowers with flare!

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

I want the white one.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

You shall not pass.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

American flag on mainstreet.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Little Vespa

decyaingtractors

Old tractor cabs

sunsetthroughabandonedcab

Decaying tractor cab.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Where does this path lead?

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

A study in trees.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Horses.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

One horse walking.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

One horse eating.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Tractor gauges.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Abandoned baseball field.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

A childhood friend.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Where children play.

 

And that’s my year in review.

More photos are coming.

New ideas are coming.

Kodak slide film is coming. (WHAAAAAAAAT!?)

And, as always. Winter is coming. Stupid Ohio.

Leave a Reply

