Fallsville Creek Wildlife Area

Back in January, it snowed in Ohio. I know right? What a shock!

There is a wildlife preserve not far from where I live, called Fallsville Creek. Here you can find all sorts of Ohio wildlife. Turkeys, deer, squirrel, fox. There’s rumor of bears and bobcats, too. Fallsville allows hunting, but only during season, and is strictly enforced by the Brown County Sheriff and some three full time park rangers, whose trucks oddly look like they might belong in Jurassic Park.

It’s a beautiful area in the Fall. Spring and Summer are nice, too. But fall is really gorgeous. Unfortunately, I missed fall and came in winter. Which, while pretty, was mostly brown and white. Everywhere, it was brown and white.

This was disappointing, as I had arrived with three rolls of Fuji Velvia and three rolls of Kodak Ektar. I had also brought some Kentmere 100 Black and White. I decided to try the Kentmere, as I hadn’t shot it before, and there weren’t really any colors catching my eye.

So, here I present to you the best shots from my trip to Fallsville. Back in January. Hey, life gets busy, don’t judge.

Oh right. For those of you that think it matters, Nikon EM, Nikon Series E 50mm fixed lens, Kentmere 100 B&W, and Tiffen #2 Yellow filter.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Fallen tree.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Same tree. New persepctive.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Same tree. Another new perspective.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Snowy bridge.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Small creek.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Open field.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Snowy field.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

A creek runs through it.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

My shooting was quieter today.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Mossy fallen tree.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Same mossy fallen tree. New persepctive.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

A path to… Somewhere.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Frozen pond. (Do NOT start singing “Let it Go.”)

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

A creek… Still runs through it.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Reflections on the water.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Creek… Reflections. You get the picture.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Whose woods these are I think I know. His house is in the village though; He will not see me stopping here To watch his woods fill up with snow. My little horse must think it queer To stop without a farmhouse near Between the woods and frozen lake The darkest evening of the year. He gives his harness bells a shake To ask if there is some mistake. The only other sound’s the sweep Of easy wind and downy flake. The woods are lovely, dark and deep, But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep, And miles to go before I sleep. – Robert Frost

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

