The Deeds Carillon, Dayton, Ohio

If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a hundred times. I love Dayton, Ohio.

I was born in Dayton, Ohio. I’ve had some aspect of my life revolve around Dayton for 25 years. We lived there up until I was three and a half (roughly), and the memories I have from there, while admittedly few, are some of the best I have.

Dayton has some of the best stuff in Ohio. We have, as I have mentioned before, the best pizza this side of Brooklyn. We’re the Birthplace of Aviation. We have Wright Patterson Air Force Base. We have THE University of Dayton, a title earned after beating a lesser university here in Ohio, whose mascot is a useless nut.

We have sophisticated shopping centers, one of the best art institutes in the nation, one of the best preserved historical neighborhoods anywhere, a store that never stopped selling vinyl records (for you hipsters out there, it’s called Second Time Around.) We have a grocery store called Dorothy Lane Market, and if you walk in, you gain five pounds just from the smell of the bakery section.

We also have some of the best parks in the great state of Ohio. And some very unique and charming architecture across town. One of my personal favorites, is this. The Deeds Carillon Tower.

Built in 1942, this tower stands as a memorial to the Deeds family, a prominent Dayton family. This tower contains 57 bells, which every Sunday at 3 in the afternoon from May until October, ring throughout the city, playing melodies that, if you let them, will sweep you away in an Hans Zimmer-esque crescendo of emotion.

This tower is a prominent figure in my life, too. There’s an old Polaroid photo (you know, what we used for instant pictures BEFORE we had smartphones) of me and my mom when I was pssshhh…. One year old? Two, maybe? I can’t remember, but I’m sure I had more hair. I was a toddler, and it was late in the year. Me and mom are bundled up like you wouldn’t believe, and there we are. Standing next to this massive Carillon.

We took a similar picture again when I was 13.

When I was 21, I was planning on proposing at this Carillon. It’s still a valid option, too. Whenever I find someone who’ll let me propose to her. (Spoilers, honey, if you ever read this. Whomever you are.)

So I thought I’d take a moment to share this little tribute to the Deeds Carillon. A prominent figure in my life, and undoubtedly, the lives of many Daytonians.

For those that think it matters (it really doesn’t, and what I’m about to tell you will prove it) here are the specs:

Nikon F4 (a nice light tight box)

Vivitar 19-35mm 3.5f AF zoom lens. (Cost me 20 bucks. Sooo. In your face.)

Kodak Color Plus film. ($2.99 from adorama.com. Seriously. A 36 exposure role of film for $2.99.)

And for good measure, a Tiffen 77mm Sky1-A filter. (Also came with the $20 lens. And I can’t remember if I had it on or not. Are you supposed to take notes when you’re taking photographs?)

So for anyone who likes my photos and seems to think I’m a good photographer, and wish you could be like me (there’s maybe one of you out there), I’ll say this again. What you have doesn’t matter. A picture is worth a thousand words. Craft your story. A camera is merely a light tight box to capture it with. Go. Tell a story. And share it with me. Us. The world.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Tall. Prominent. Elegant. Musical.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

She can’t hide very well…

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Basking in a late evening glow.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

She really is tall, isn’t she?

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Running out of daylight.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Catching the last rays.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Well… That’s different.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Ahh. This makes more sense.

"It was as if an earthquake rent  The hearth-stones of a continent,  And made forlorn  The households born  Of peace on earth, good-will to men! And in despair I bowed my head;  "There is no peace on earth," I said;  "For hate is strong,  And mocks the song  Of peace on earth, good-will to men!" Then pealed the bells more loud and deep:  "God is not dead, nor doth He sleep;  The Wrong shall fail,  The Right prevail,  With peace on earth, good-will to men." - Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

“It was as if an earthquake rent
The hearth-stones of a continent,
And made forlorn
The households born
Of peace on earth, good-will to men!
And in despair I bowed my head;
“There is no peace on earth,” I said;
“For hate is strong,
And mocks the song
Of peace on earth, good-will to men!”
Then pealed the bells more loud and deep:
“God is not dead, nor doth He sleep;
The Wrong shall fail,
The Right prevail,
With peace on earth, good-will to men.”
– Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Leave a Reply

