Waynesville, Ohio

The Miami Valley region of Ohio is probably my favorite area in Ohio. In this region we have:

1. Dayton, Ohio. My favorite city, and home of the best pizza this side of Brooklyn.

2. Xenia, Ohio. If you want to relive the 1996 blockbuster Twister, I suggest bringing your pick up trucks here in tornado season.

3. Centerville, Ohio. Lot’s of old stone buildings here.

4. Waynesville, Ohio. Not located far from Caesars Creek Lake, this town will throw you back a few decades with it’s old buildings and homes in amazing condition. Not to mention a gas station ran by a man named Goober. (I don’t know if his name is Goober or not, but you get the idea.)

Waynesville is where we pick up this blog. It’s a small town you pass by on State Route 73 a few miles south of Dayton. There’s no industry there, except a couple gas stations, a drug store, and a quaint little hotel. There used to be a great little restaurant called Der Dutchman, but a fire knocked them out of commission some years back.

The industry in Waynesville is Antiques and Colonial lifestyle products. Basically, a bunch of old stuff that I love but can’t possibly afford. Run by what seems to be mostly retired ladies, these shops carry you back to a simpler, happier, and easier to live in time. The buildings themselves are old, and you can’t help but wonder what stories they’d have to tell, if they could talk. Some, I’m convinced, had horses tied up out front in an older, more civilized time.

I was in the Dayton area for odds and ends, as I so often am, and found myself wandering Waynesville. While I had my EM and F4 with me, I wasn’t expecting much to come from the day. The weather was bleak, and I like lots of color in my photos. I also don’t have a lot of experience with indoor photography. Remember, I’m a newbie shooting film. Ask a lot of photographers at my Cincinnati Dodd Camera about shooting indoors on film, especially in dimly lit places, and you hear something like… “There be monsters here, boy!”

It’s not that it can’t be done, but it’s a lot harder. You need to really know how to work with the light you have, and on film, you often times will need a tri-pod, or else you get blurry shots.

But as I started wandering Waynesville, I started seeing that, despite the crumby light, there were photographs waiting to be made. So I positioned myself and started shooting.

Once I was content that I had captured all I could outside. (Lie: It was 22 degrees outside. I couldn’t feel my fingers anymore.) I made my way into a shop to seek shelter from the (blistering) Ohio cold. And landed in a goldmine.

Amazing light and things to shoot were just around every corner. All you needed was a little creativity and boom! You had the chance to make a good photograph.

And I tried. Loaded into my Nikon EM with my Series “E” 50mm Nikon lens was a roll of Ilford HP-5 400 black and white, and stuffed into my Nikon F-4 with my Quantaray 28-90mm and Vivitar 19-35mm lenses was a roll of Kodak Portra 160. These are the shots I liked best.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Main Street, Waynesville, Ohio

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Hammel House

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Lilly’s Antiques

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Colonial… I think you can read it.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Nifty old cart. Or at least, a cart that looks old.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Odds and Ends

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

A magnified copy of Pride and Prejudice.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

A nifty 15 year old replica of an almost 100 year old phone.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Webster’s Dictionary. I’m not sure how old this exact one is, but I looked; selfie isn’t a word.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Oh yeah, speaking of selfie’s…

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

I, want to swing, from the chandelier! But not this one; it’s kind of fragile.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Lilly’s from the inside.

 

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Back outside, looking at how the sled caught the light. Brought to you in amazing 35mm Kodak Color! (Product plugging, much?)

 

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Stained glass lamp.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Again, nifty color and light, eh?

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Mmm. Nope. Selfie still isn’t in here…

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

It almost looks like it’s in a house…

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

A collection of antique… Stuff.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

I still can’t swing from the chandelier…

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Look at the light, and the color it created!

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

As you can tell… I liked the chandelier…

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Lilly’s on the inside… In amazing Kodak Portra 160 color! (I should sell for Kodak, I really should…) Yes, it might be a bit off balance. The floor in Lilly’s isn’t really level. Anywhere, if I’m honest.

And these were the one’s I liked best. Let me know if you liked them, and remember…

Camera’s don’t make photos. You make photos. Go make some!

 

 

Leave a Reply

