Snow in Black and White

Thought I’d gone MIA?

HA! No. I’m still here.

My lab took forever to get me my film back. Something about delays because of snow on the east coast. Pssh. I don’t know what they’re complaining about. I only saw one Sheriff slide his car off the road and into a ditch here in Ohio. And we only got 6 inches…

Anyway.

With snow comes a change. Snow makes everything prettier. Well, kinda. There’s only so much you can do with a garbage truck…

Being more serious, snow makes old things new. Or at least, look new. Snow transforms the world. For those of us with wild imaginations, snow throws a small piece of Narnia right in our back door. It’s beautiful. Cold, but beautiful.

It can make color photography a little tricky, though. See, snow can get so bright that it washes everything out. Beyond that, in my little chunk of Ohio anyway, colors are white, black and gray. At night, there are more colors in winter. Beautiful colors I lack the skill and equipment to capture on film. (Need a high ISO film, a tripod, and some patience. And a city scape. Usually helps.) I could be wrong, but my eyes don’t see much color around me in the snow. Maybe I will in time, but right now… Not so much. I capture it when I see it, though. Which you all will get to see once I get my next batch of, errr… five rolls of film. (I got a little carried away…)

This is a roll of Kodak Tri-X 400 I shot mostly around Lunken, but a few shots at home. For those that think it matters, I used the Nikon F4 with my Series “E” 50mm Nikon lens. (Again, only lens I have a filter for B&W)

I typically use my Nikon EM for black and white, but the cold temperatures we had make the EM have serious light leak issues, and I keep putting off sending it in to get fixed because, well, starving college student here.

Alright, enough of me. Here are the photos. I got quite a few good ones to share with ya’ll.

Snow Covered Bench

Snow Covered Bench

Abandoned Nest

Abandoned Nest

Abandoned Nest Again

Abandoned Nest Again

Decaying Fence

Decaying Fence

Decaying Fence

Decaying Fence

Abaondoned Fence

Abaondoned Fence

Abandoned Fence

Abandoned Fence

Snowy Branch

Snowy Branch

Gate to... Where/

Gate to… Where/

Oh Look...

Oh Look…

Hello

Hello

Ohio River Trail Mile Marker

Ohio River Trail Mile Marker

Ohio River... You get the idea.

Ohio River… You get the idea.

Over Grown Fence

Over Grown Fence

Overgrown Fence

Overgrown Fence

Snowy Fence

Snowy Fence

Holy Lens Flair, Batman!

Holy Lens Flair, Batman!

Leave a Reply

