Shots From Summer/Massive Photo Blast

I have a confession to make; I’m not very technically literate. “Oookay, so what’s the big deal?”

Well, I have an associate’s degree in computer sciences, that’s the big deal. I’m supposed to know what the heck I’m doing. But I don’t. For example, all of these images were posted onto my site here much earlier in the year. June, if I’m honest. And I could never figure out why no one was looking at them.

Well, no one was looking because there were no “tags,” whatever those are. Apparently, they get your site views. But you have to make blog posts instead of site pages. I must have missed that bit when I created the site.

Oh well. Learn by doing, right?

So, what have we here? A collection of images from earlier in the year, when I first decided I was going to start taking pictures. Some are good, some are bad. Again, we learn by doing.

These will come from my Nikon EM and my N65. Not like that really matters, but hey. Some folks care.

I will say, at the risk of tooting my own horn, that my pictures have gotten better since I first started. My eye for detail has maybe gotten a bit sharper, my knowledge on composition and color has grown. I’m no master, but I’ve gotten better. And I’m happy with any progress, really.

I’d also like to mention again, I don’t edit most of my images. They are as they were shot. I figure if I make a good one, it’ll make its own case. If not, well, oops. I do have some edited images, and I’ll make note that they were edited. But most of them are as shot, straight from the camera to here. Through a film bath and scanner, of course.

So here’s this stuff. These are earlier posts, copied from their original pages to here.

Here are some more photos taken from the EM. Similar subjects. I’ll include a couple that aren’t so great and some notes on what I learned from the shots.

Old building. Nikon EM, Nikon Series "E" 50mm lens, aperture set as light meter suggested, Fuji Superia 400

Old building. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series “E” 50mm lens, aperture set as light meter suggested, Fuji Superia 400)

Fence. This would have been a much better image if I had a longer fence to include. Nikon EM, Nikon Series "E" 50mm fixed lens, aperture set as light meter recommended, Fuji Superia 400

Fence. This would have been a much better image if I had a longer fence to include. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series “E” 50mm fixed lens, aperture set as light meter recommended, Fuji Superia 400)

Flowery leafy... Things. This shot has two issues with it that I can see. It looks like my focus was off, and/or I was too close for the lens I had attached. Nikon EM, Nikon Series "E" 50mm fixed lense, aperture set as camera recommended, Fuji Superia 400

Flowery leafy… Things. This shot has two issues with it that I can see. It looks like my focus was off, and/or I was too close for the lens I had attached. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series “E” 50mm fixed lense, aperture set as camera recommended, Fuji Superia 400)

Tree on path. This seems like a good shot, but it may be slightly out of focus. What do you think? Nikon EM, Nikon Series "E" 50mm fixed lens, aperture as recommended, Fuji Superia 400

Tree on path. This seems like a good shot, but it may be slightly out of focus. What do you think? (Nikon EM, Nikon Series “E” 50mm fixed lens, aperture as recommended, Fuji Superia 400)

Lots of things could have happened with this shot. It looks like I moved when taking the shot. As car as the color problems, this could be an issue with developing, or it could be a major light leak with the camera. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series "E" 50mm fixed lens, aperture are recommended, Fuji Superia 400)

Lots of things could have happened with this shot. It looks like I moved when taking the shot. As far as the color problems, this could be an issue with developing, or it could be a major light leak with the camera. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series “E” 50mm fixed lens, aperture are recommended, Fuji Superia 400)

Maybe a little dark, but a shot I still like. Notice the white blurring at the bottom of the image. This is the typical symptom of my EM's aging light gaskets. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series "E" 50mm fixed lens, aperture set as recommended, Fuji Superia 400)

Maybe a little dark, but a shot I still like. Notice the white blurring at the bottom of the image. This is the typical symptom of my EM’s aging light gaskets. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series “E” 50mm fixed lens, aperture set as recommended, Fuji Superia 400)

 

And we keep moving. More photos from the N65. I’ll try to include a couple that I’m not fond of, and see if I can share what I learned from the shot.

I'm fond of this shot, but I think it could be a little dark. Needs a larger aperture setting to let a little more light in. Maybe even a different time of day. (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm zoom lens, auto settings, Kodak Max 400 film)

I’m fond of this shot, but I think it could be a little dark. Needs a larger aperture setting to let a little more light in. Maybe even a different time of day. (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm zoom lens, auto settings, Kodak Max 400 film)

Hmm, not bad. Maybe a little cluttered. And I don't like those power lines... (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm zoom lens, auto settings for low light, Kodak Max 400 film)

Hmm, not bad. Maybe a little cluttered. And I don’t like those power lines… (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm zoom lens, auto settings for low light, Kodak Max 400 film)

Getting better... (Take a guess...)

Getting better… (Take a guess…)

Parker House, Hillsboro, Ohio (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm zoom lens, auto settings for night, Kodak Max 400 film)

Parker House, Hillsboro, Ohio. Best. Sadly the power lines win the war, but if I wanted to do a little cropping, I could get rid of them without losing too much of the overall image. (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm zoom lens, auto settings for night, Kodak Max 400 film)

A gate. A little too centered I think, but I like the uphill illusion of the shot. That's pretty cool, given the ground is very, very flat... (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm zoom lens, auto settings, Kodak Max 400)

A gate. A little too centered I think, but I like the uphill illusion of the shot. That’s pretty cool, given the ground is very, very flat… (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm zoom lens, auto settings, Kodak Max 400)

British scenery... Nah. Mariemont. (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm zoom lens, auto settings, Kodak Max 400 film)

British scenery… Nah. Mariemont. (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm zoom lens, auto settings, Kodak Max 400 film)

Boozer on the run. (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm zoom lens, auto settings, Kodak Max 400 film)

Boozer on the run. A little far out and a bit darker than I’d like… (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm zoom lens, auto settings, Kodak Max 400 film)

This was an effort to capture the little Robin you see by the ball field fence. This was, on my part, a lack of understanding of the capabilities of my gear. Not that any of it is bad, but some images require the photographer to move around a bit more. I was afraid to scare the bird off, so I tried to capture an image with the wrong gear. My fault, I was ill prepared. (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm zoom lens, auto settings, Kodak Max 400)

This was an effort to capture the little Robin you see by the ball field fence. This was, on my part, a lack of understanding of the capabilities of my gear. Not that any of it is bad, but some images require the photographer to move around a bit more. I was afraid to scare the bird off, so I tried to capture an image with the wrong gear. My fault, I was ill prepared. (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm zoom lens, auto settings, Kodak Max 400)

From another view. (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm zoom lens, auto settings, Kodak Max 400 film)

From another view. (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm zoom lens, auto settings, Kodak Max 400 film)

 

More shots from my EM. Again, ones I like with ones I don’t, and some notes on the ones I don’t.

Fallen log again. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series "E" 50mm fixed lens, aperture as recommended, Fuji Superia 400 film)

Fallen log again. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series “E” 50mm fixed lens, aperture as recommended, Fuji Superia 400 film)

I was trying to get artsy-fartsy with the cutter, the barn and the overgrown grass. Again, like with my N65 post from today, I didn't quite grasp the limits of my lens, so I didn't quite get what I wanted. Everything looks pretty well in focus, and I had hoped for a more out of focus background and forefront. Oh well. My goof. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series "E" 50mm fixed lens, aperture as recommended, Fuji Superia 400 film)

I was trying to get artsy-fartsy with the cutter, the barn and the overgrown grass. Again, like with my N65 post from today, I didn’t quite grasp the limits of my lens, so I didn’t quite get what I wanted. Everything looks pretty well in focus, and I had hoped for a more out of focus background and forefront. Oh well. My goof. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series “E” 50mm fixed lens, aperture as recommended, Fuji Superia 400 film)

The West Main Street Cafe, Hillsboro, Ohio. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series "E" 50mm fixed lens, aperture set as recommended, Fuji Superia 400 film)

The West Main Street Cafe, Hillsboro, Ohio. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series “E” 50mm fixed lens, aperture set as recommended, Fuji Superia 400 film)

A church in Mariemont. I'm still debating on how I feel about this image. Any thoughts you all may have would be great. What might make it better? (Nikon EM, Nikon Series "E" 50mm fixed lens, aperture as recommended, Fuji Superia 400 film)

A church in Mariemont. I’m still debating on how I feel about this image. Any thoughts you all may have would be great. What might make it better? (Nikon EM, Nikon Series “E” 50mm fixed lens, aperture as recommended, Fuji Superia 400 film)

Bars. Aside from being a little crooked, I like this one. A blurrier background wouldn't hurt, but I still like it. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series "E" 50 mm fixed lens, aperture as recommended, Kodak Max 400 film)

Bars. Aside from being a little crooked, I like this one. A blurrier background wouldn’t hurt, but I still like it. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series “E” 50 mm fixed lens, aperture as recommended, Kodak Max 400 film)

Hillsboro at night. I was going to comment on how badly exposed this shot was, but then I realized that this is art, so this is representation of how bleak life can be in Hillsboro, Ohio. (It's really just very badly exposed. Not enough light.) (Nikon EM, Nikon Series "E" 50mm fixed lens, aperture meter tricked by aiming first at nearby light and setting max aperture, then re-aiming for this shot, Kodak Max 400 film)

Hillsboro at night. I was going to comment on how badly exposed this shot was, but then I realized that this is art, so this is representation of how bleak life can be in Hillsboro, Ohio. (It’s really just very badly exposed. Not enough light.) (Nikon EM, Nikon Series “E” 50mm fixed lens, aperture meter tricked by aiming first at nearby light and setting max aperture, then re-aiming for this shot, Kodak Max 400 film)

 

And here we go, more shots from the Nikon EM.

When I was shooting these pictures, a curious thing happened. While I thought my ability to taking pictures was getting better, after I got the shots back from the developer, I noticed I hit a plateau, or went backwards.

I’ll be showing this in larger detail in a folder specifically for the bad shots. In the meantime, these are the best images from my latest escapade.

Bolts on a fence. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series "E" 50mm fixed lens affixed to a Vivitar 2x Macro Converter, FujiColor 200 film)

Bolts on a fence. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series “E” 50mm fixed lens affixed to a Vivitar 2x Macro Converter, FujiColor 200 film)

Follow the river. (Nikon EM, Nikon Nikkor AF 70-210mm zoom lens, FujiColor 200 film)

Follow the river. (Nikon EM, Nikon Nikkor AF 70-210mm zoom lens, FujiColor 200 film)

A cycle with no cyclist? (Nikon EM, Nikon Series "E" 50mm fixed lens, FujiColor 200 film)

A cycle with no cyclist? (Nikon EM, Nikon Series “E” 50mm fixed lens, FujiColor 200 film)

Bolts and a strange swirl. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series "E" 50mm fixed lens affixed to a Vivitar 2x macro converter, FujiColor 200 film)

Bolts and a strange swirl. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series “E” 50mm fixed lens affixed to a Vivitar 2x macro converter, FujiColor 200 film)

Curving fence. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series "E" 50mm fixed lens, FujiColor 200 film)

Curving fence. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series “E” 50mm fixed lens, FujiColor 200 film)

 

Lately, the Nikon EM has been getting all the love. Despite needing to go in for a light gasket repair, I’ve been using the EM more than the N65. Partly because I like using the EM more, and partly because I’ve been locked in “Auto” mode with the N65, and haven’t been getting the shots I really wanted.

Though with this roll of film, I decided to go into full manual mode and see what I could do. After actually learning how to use the camera in full manual mode, these are the best shots of that endeavor.

An interesting telephone pole. (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm lens, FujiColor 200 film)

A pole with a view. (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm lens, FujiColor 200 film)

The barber shop is open. (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm lens, FujiColor 200 film)

The barber shop is open. (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm lens, FujiColor 200 film)

Colors and a shadow. (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm lens, Fuji Color 200 film)

Colors and a shadow. (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm lens, Fuji Color 200 film)

Follow the road east, young man. (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm lens, Fuji Color 200 film)

Follow the road east, young man. (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm lens, Fuji Color 200 film)

Unlike Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan, I prefer real mail... (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm, Fuji Color 200 film)

Unlike Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan, I prefer real mail… (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm, Fuji Color 200 film)

A pretty flower, or just a weed? (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm lens, Fuji Color 200 film)

A pretty flower, or just a weed? (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm lens, Fuji Color 200 film)

A precarious location... (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm lens, Fuji Color 200 film)

A precarious location… (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm lens, Fuji Color 200 film)

There goes the sun, nah na na nah... (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm lens, Fuji Color 200 film)

There goes the sun, nah na na nah… (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm lens, Fuji Color 200 film)

A face in the rusty door. (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm lens, Fuji Color 200 film)

A face in the rusty door. It may take you a while to see it… (Nikon N65, Quantaray 28-90mm lens, Fuji Color 200 film)

 

Despite wanting the N65 to get a little more love, I still have been taking more shots with the EM. Oh well, life goes on I suppose. I’ll write a page or so to explain why.

In the meantime, here are more shots from the EM.

Ahhh. Film photorgaphy. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series "E" 50mm fixed lens, Fuji Color 200)

Ahhh. Film photorgaphy. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series “E” 50mm fixed lens, Fuji Color 200)

You! Shall not! Park here! (Nikon EM, Nikon Series "E" 50mm lens, Fuji Color 200)

You! Shall not! Park here! (Nikon EM, Nikon Series “E” 50mm lens, Fuji Color 200)

Colors and textures and... Things. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series "E" 50mm lens, Fuji Color 200)

Colors and textures and… Things. (Nikon EM, Nikon Series “E” 50mm lens, Fuji Color 200)

A bolt and a scrape. (Nikon EM, Quantaray 28-90mm lens, Fuji Color 200 film)

A bolt and a scrape. (Nikon EM, Quantaray 28-90mm lens, Fuji Color 200 film)

 

Leave a Reply

