Here Comes The Sun

Do de do do…

Ahem.

I love sunrise and sunset. My favorite times of the day. Aside from around midnight, when the Milky Way makes herself visible on cold crisp country nights.

Around here, sunrise usually includes some fog. The sun starts peeking up just over this little rise to the right of our property, starts lighting up the woods across the street and the fields around us, and you swear you’re looking at heaven.

Other places hit you with immense beauty right from the start. Yosemite, the Rockies, the Appalachians, the Cascades and even Texas hits you with such beauty at sunrise that you just can’t believe it exists. Well, I can. But you know what I mean.

Montana at sunrise is gorgeous. Take Amtrak’s Empire Builder and head west and if you caught the right schedule, you’ll see miles of rolling, grassy plains and rising up behind them come the Rocky Mountains. And it’s like God’s own rock and roll show.

The only problem with that is I don’t always want God’s rock and roll show. I’d prefer a nocturne sometimes. You know, God’s own Frederic Chopin?

So I stayed up one night, all night long, and waited for the sun to come up. I’m not really a morning person. If I sleep, I’ll miss the sunrise unless I have to get up for work or school.

I had a special roll of film for these moments. I purchased some Kodak Portra 160, which is supposed to be amazing for moments and times like these. And I must say, I agree.

I shot all of these images with my Nikon F4, using my Quantaray 28-90mm zoom lens. (Camera doesn’t matter. Notice I’m using the same lens on my F4 that I used on my N65. The F4 has simply replaced the N65 as my high tech autofocus camera. My EM or N65 could have gotten the same results. Your camera can too. Unless it’s genuinely broken, then you may have troubles…)

A frosted branch.

A frosted branch.

Black, yellow and blue.

Black, yellow and blue.

Sunrise and trees.

Sunrise and trees.

A frosted fence.

A frosted fence.

Sun still rising.

Sun still rising.

A frosted fenceline.

A frosted fenceline.

Almost there....

Almost there….

Getting more light.

Getting more light.

And here it comes.

And here it comes.

 

And then I broke the cardinal rule of photographers. I RAN OUT OF FILM! GAAAH!

Oh well. No regrets. I got what I got, and I’m happy with them.

Leave a Reply

