A Night On The Town

Hillsboro, Ohio is a small town. Very small. And a few years behind the times. I often joke with people that don’t live anywhere near it, or the county that it resides in, that once you cross the county line, your vision will go mono-chromatic. This is slightly re-enforced by the 1964 Ohio State Highway Patrol Chevrolet Impala that sits on U.S. 50, roughly 5 miles west of town. Sure, it doesn’t run and the colors are so faded it’s barely recognizable as an old patrol car, but still, you get my point.

I decided to hit Hillsboro full force with some black and white film I was experimenting with, Kodak T-Max 100. Of course, I slammed this film into my Nikon EM and ran into Hillsboro late on afternoon. Almost too late, in fact. Around 5 p.m., and under overcast skies. I was concerned about the images I would get.

Overall, I’m pleased. I’m not going to say that they’re the best images I’ve ever taken so far, though I will be posting those later. I like them, though, so they’re going up.

And for those that thinks it matters, all these shots were taken with my Nikon EM, my Nikon Series “E” 50mm lens, and a yellow Tiffen filter. In reality, the only part that matters is the filter. The rest is inconsequential. Any camera can do this. Any photographer can do it. Maybe even better, too.

Maines Tin Shop, Hillsboro, Ohio

Maines Tin Shop, Hillsboro, Ohio

Ladder to no where.

Ladder to no where.

Fire Escape, Hillsboro, Ohio

Fire Escape, Hillsboro, Ohio

Corner Apartment, Hillsboro

Corner Apartment, Hillsboro

Parking Lot Light, Hillsboro, Ohio

Parking Lot Light, Hillsboro, Ohio

Pasquale's Pizza, Hillsboro, Ohio

Pasquale’s Pizza, Hillsboro, Ohio

Colony Theatre, Hillsboro, Ohio

Colony Theatre, Hillsboro, Ohio

Colony Theatre, Hillsboro, Ohio

Colony Theatre, Hillsboro, Ohio

Christmas Courthouse Lawn, Hillsboro, Ohio

Christmas Courthouse Lawn, Hillsboro, Ohio

Leave a Reply

